Tuesday, December 07, 2010

2010: Best of Qtr IV

In keeping with tradition, my "best of Qtr IV" for the year is a little early in the quarter. Most of December is focused on holiday stuff, which includes working through our heap of Christmas records. Luckily the past 9 or so weeks have been jam-packed with amazing music.
20. "Lord Help" - Tom Jones
19. "Father's Son" - Fistful of Mercy
18. "Take Me Over" - Cut Copy
17.  "Walk Tall" - Ziggy Marley & Paul Simon#
16. "Contact" - Jason Falkner 
15. "Angel" - James McCartney#
14. "Let There Be Music" - Prefab Sprout#
13. "Where's My Sex?" - Weezer
12. "Setback" - The Constellations
11. "Hands" - The Ting Tings 
10. "Honest Face" - Liam Finn + Eliza Jane#
9. "The Glitter Prize" - The Posies
8. "Ramones Forever" - Shonen Knife
7. "Don't Bring Me Down" - Micky Dolenz#
6. "She's Coming Down Again!" - The Posies
5. "Mother" - Blondie#
4. "Record Collection" - Mark Ronson w/Simon LeBon
3. "Too Many Miracles" - Badly Drawn Boy
"Jardin du Luxembourg" 7" single
2. "All You Need Is Now" - Duran Duran
1. "Jardin du Luxembourg" - The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger
A few notable things about this quarter's list:
  • It is my first 'best-of' to ever feature songs from three Beatle offspring (Sean Lennon (#1), Dhani Harrison (#18), and James McCartney (#16))
  • The Posies achieve the rare feat of landing two songs in the top 10, both from their incredible 2010 album Blood/Candy
  • Only six songs on the list are currently unavailable on vinyl (marked by #'s), although when I met drummer Clem Burke earlier this year he told me that he does expect Blondie's forthcoming Panic of Girls (which includes the song "Mother") to be released on LP
  • The #1 song, "Jardin du Luxembourg" (by Sean Lennon and girlfriend Charlotte Kemp Muhl) exists in two different versions: a 7" single (the version on this list), and an acoustic version on the duo's Acoustic Sessions (2010) album
  • Thanks to my friend and fellow vinyl geek Chuck for #12, the 7" of The Constellations' "Setback"!
  • **12/8 Update**: With the early release of the debut single from Duran Duran's upcoming  album, "All You Need Is Now", I gave a song the boot ("Twerk" by Basement Jaxx") in order to squeeze in this great new DD single.  According to Duran's website, the new album is being released on vinyl. 
  • **12/17 Update**: Switched a few songs around after deciding on a more accurate track order.

1 comment:

ChuckO said...

yay! have a couple more to be sent when i have something really good for ya