Wednesday, December 07, 2011

New Ringo Starr vinyl: 1/31/2012

Titled simply "2012", this is Ringo's 2nd self-produced LP.
Street date: 1/31/2012.

Track listing:

1.     Anthem (Richard Starkey/Glen Ballard)
2.     Wings (Richard Starkey/Vince Poncia)
3.     Think It Over (Buddy Holly/Norman Perry)
4.     Samba (Richard Starkey/Van Dyke Parks)
5.     Rock Island Line (Arrangement by Richard Starkey)
6.     Step Lightly (Richard Starkey)
7.     Wonderful (Richard Starkey/Gary Nicholson)
8.     In Liverpool (Richard Starkey/Dave Stewart)
9.     Slow Down (Richard Starkey/Joe Walsh)

Worth noting: Two of the tracks are covers, while two others ("Wings" and "Step Lightly") are remakes of songs Ringo wrote & recorded in the 1970s.  Ringo's last release (also on vinyl) was quite good in my opinion, so I'm really looking forward to this one!  Ringo is far too often overlooked for his talents as a songwriter and singer. It also makes sense that he has talent as a producer -- he was a BEATLE for Godsakes. 

No comments: